ClickCease
Nearest Office:

Delaware Car Insurance Requirements

Delaware Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

In the state of Delaware, you are required to carry both liabilities insurance personal injury protection (PIP) in order to legally drive. Each of these come with their own state-mandated minimums you must maintain. Outlined below are the required minimum car insurance coverage for the state of Delaware:

Liability Insurance

  • $25,000 bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 property damage per accident

Personal Injury Protection (PIP)

  • $15,000 injury per person
  • $30,000 injury per accident

You must carry proof of insurance and be prepared to present it if asked by law enforcement. If you lease or finance your vehicle, you could face additional insurance requirements depending on your lender or leasing company. Always double-check before purchasing a policy.

Delaware Liability Coverage

Liability insurance covers damages and injuries the other driver sustains in an accident you are responsible for. This coverage will pay for costs such as medical bills and lost wages. It also covers damage to the other party’s vehicle. Many states set a mandatory minimum amount of liability insurance you must cover. Delaware, as outlined above, is one of these states. Liability coverage limits are divided into three categories, all of which will be explored in a later section.

Delaware Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Coverage

Personal injury protection (PIP) covers medical expenses you and your passenger(s) accumulate due to an accident. Expenses it can cover include hospital bills, lost wages, and rehab costs. PIP coverage in Delaware also will cover up to $5,000 in funeral expenses. This type of coverage is available to you regardless of who is at fault for the accident and applies only to you and your passenger(s). Liability coverage pays for injuries the other party sustains.

Car Insurance Limits in Delaware

Limits, in this case, refers to the minimum amount of insurance coverage you must carry in order to legally drive. It also is the maximum amount of money your insurer will payout in the event of an accident. In the state of Delaware, the mandatory liability insurance limit is 25/50/10.

Each of these numbers refers to a certain aspect of liability insurance:

  • Bodily injury per person is the maximum amount your insurance company will pay for one person injured in a car accident you caused. In Delaware, if you choose to carry a 25/50/10 policy, $25,000 is the most your insurer will cover for one person injured.
  • Bodily injury per accident refers to the amount your insurer will pay for all injures you caused in an accident. For the state of Delaware, in a 25/50/10 policy, the limit is $50,000.
  • Property damage per accident is the maximum amount of money your insurer will pay for property damage you cause in an accident. The limit is $10,000 in the state of Delaware when you carry their mandatory minimum.

Delaware is a unique state as it also requires you to carry a minimum amount of PIP coverage. PIP will pay for injuries you and your passenger(s) sustain in an accident regardless of who is at fault. For the state of Delaware, the lowest amount you must carry is a 15/30 policy for PIP coverage. That would mean your insurer will pay for up to $15,000 in injuries for one person harmed under your policy. Up to $30,000 in medical expenses will be covered for all parties injured.

Is Delaware’s Mandatory Insurance Minimums Enough Coverage?

The state of Delaware’s mandatory liability insurance minimums is pretty average compared to other states. It does also include the benefit of mandated PIP coverage. Many states do not mandate such insurance. Despite this, the coverage limits are not enough to fully protect you in an accident. Medical expenses and car repair bills can get very expensive. If the other driver needs a new car, $10,000 is barely going to put a dent in the cost to cover it. It is recommended that you purchase higher coverage limits and expand your policy if you are driving in the state of Delaware. If you fail to carry adequate insurance, you could end up in a very unfortunate position.

Driving Without Proof of Insurance in Delaware

Failing to carry the appropriate amount of car insurance in Delaware can lead to some severe penalties. After only your first offense, you can be required to pay at least $1,500 in fines, and your license will be suspended for six months. If you are caught without insurance again, and it has been less than three years since your first offense, you will be required to pay at least $3,000 in fines and face another six-month license suspension.

Additional Types of Car Insurance in Delaware

While Delaware only requires drivers to carry liability insurance and PIP coverage, there are numerous other types of car insurance you add to your policy. Expanding your policy can offer you better coverage in the event of an accident. Listed below are some common types of car insurance offered by insurance companies.

  • Collision: This covers damage to your vehicle after an accident regardless of who was at fault.
  • Comprehensive: This coverage pays for damage your vehicle sustains when it is not in use. Some perils it typically covers include extreme weather and theft.
  • Rental Car Reimbursement: If you are unable to use your car after an accident, rental car reimbursement coverage will pay for the costs associated with renting a new vehicle while yours is in the repair shop.
  • Loan/Lease Payoff: also known as gap coverage, loan/lease payoff coverage helps cover the difference between your car’s value and the amount still left on your lease or loan. This comes into play if your car has been totaled before you were able to pay it off.
  • Roadside Assistance: While service varies from one insurance company to another, roadside assistance steps in to help you when your vehicle has mechanical issues. Assistance it offers includes charging dead batteries and changing flat tires.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage: Despite liability insurance being mandated by law in many states, millions of drivers choose to forego obtaining a policy or fail to purchase enough insurance. If you end up in an accident with one, it can be financially draining. For this reason, uninsured motorist coverage is helpful to add to your policy. It helps cover costs of damages you and your car sustain in an accident.

Car Insurance is Important For Any Delaware Driver

Carrying car insurance is not just about being within the law. It also offers very valuable protection for both you and any passengers you have. It also helps other drivers on the road, as showcased with liability insurance. For this reason and many others, it is important that as a driver in Delaware, you maintain an adequate insurance policy. Accidents can get very pricey, and the consequences of failing to carry insurance can be detrimental.

*This product may not be available in every state, please call an agent for more information.

Call Us Today! 888-949- NAVY