ClickCease
Nearest Office:

Connecticut Car Insurance Requirements

Connecticut Minimum Car Insurance Requirements

The state of Connecticut not only requires all drivers to carry liability insurance but also has mandatory uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage. Both come with their own set state-mandated minimum insurance coverage amounts. Connecticut requires all drivers to carry at least the following minimum amount of liability and uninsured/underinsured insurance:

Liability Insurance:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident
  • $25,000 for property damage per accident

Uninsured/Underinsured Insurance:

  • $25,000 for bodily injury per person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury per accident

If you are financing or leasing your vehicle, you may be required by your lender or leasing company to carry additional insurance. Check with your policies before finalizing an insurance plan.

Connecticut Liability Insurance

Liability insurance pays for any damages and injuries you cause in an accident you were responsible for. It will cover medical costs, lost wages, and funeral expenses should you cause harm to another person during the accident. Liability insurance also covers damage done to the other driver’s vehicle. It is important to remember that your liability insurance policy will never cover damage to your property or injuries you and your passenger(s) sustain. You would need to expand your policy.

Connecticut Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage

Despite the fact that liability insurance is required for every driver in the state of Connecticut to carry, many choose to forego purchasing a policy or have a policy, but it is inadequate. For these reasons, the state of Connecticut mandates that all drives carry uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance. After an accident, you would typically file a claim with the other driver’s insurance company to cover the costs of damages and medical bills. However, when there is no company or the policy limits aren’t enough, you would turn to your uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to cover expenses.

Car Insurance Limits in Connecticut

A coverage limit is the maximum amount of money your insurance company will pay for damages and medical costs after an accident. States determine their own coverage limits for liability insurance which is then the minimum amount you must carry. Connecticut has set its mandated minimum limits at 25/50/25. These numbers refer to the three categories of liability insurance:

  • Bodily injury per person refers to the maximum amount of money your insurer will pay for one person’s injuries in an accident you cause.
  • Bodily injury per accident is the amount your insurance company will pay for all injuries in an accident you were at fault for.
  • Property damage per accident refers to the total amount your insurance policy covers for damage you cause to another person’s vehicle.

Is Connecticut’s Mandatory Insurance Minimums Enough Coverage?

Connecticut has pretty average liability insurance minimums, but that does not mean it is sufficient. You should never settle for just the state-mandated liability coverage. Liability limits can run out very quickly, especially after a severe accident. Medical expenses can easily fly past that $25,000 limit, and if they do, you could be in a trouble position. This same logic applies to your uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage limits. It is recommended you purchase higher coverage limits and expand coverage via policy add-ons.

Driving Without Proof of Insurance in Connecticut

Failure to maintain the mandatory liability insurance minimums can result in some hefty penalties in the state of Connecticut. Listed below are what you could be facing should you choose to drive without insurance in Connecticut:

  • Fines ranging anywhere from $100 to $1,000
  • 1-month license suspension for a first-time offense, 6 months for second and subsequent
  • Reinstatement fees

Addition Types of Car Insurance in Connecticut

As previously mentioned, it is always smart to buy insurance beyond what the state of Connecticut requires for liability coverage. Liability insurance will not cover your expenses, meaning you will probably want someone in your corner after an accident, especially if you are at fault. A variety of policy add-ons are available from your insurance company. Listed below are some common ones.

  • Collision: This coverage pays for damage to your vehicle after an accident, no matter who was at fault.
  • Comprehensive: Comprehensive coverage pays for damage your vehicle sustains when it is not in use. Some perils it may cover include extreme weather and theft.
  • Medical Payments: Even if the accident is your fault, you can still suffer some grave injuries. For instances like those, medical payments coverage will assist with paying you and your passenger(s) medical expenses.
  • Loan/Lease Payoff: Also referred to as gap insurance, loan lease payoff will cover the pay the difference in the actual cash value (ACV) of your car and the amount you still owe on its loan or lease. This is highly recommended if you finance or lease your car.
  • Rental Car Reimbursement: If your car is unable to be driven after an accident, rental car reimbursement coverage will pay for a rental car while you wait for your car to be fixed.
  • Roadside Assistance: If your car has mechanical issues while you are on the road, roadside assistance can help with a variety of car issues like flat tires and dead batteries. The specific instances it covers vary depending on your insurance company.

Car Insurance is Important For Any Connecticut Driver

Not only does purchasing car insurance help you be on the right side of the law, but it also offers very valuable protection in an accident. Crashes can have some severe consequences, and while you cannot predict them, you can try to be prepared. You want you and your assets protected, and obtaining an adequate car insurance policy is the best way to go about that.

*This product may not be available in every state, please call an agent for more information.

Call Us Today! 888-949-NAVY