by Ed Sneneh, Illinois Auto Insurance Agent
Illinois automobile insurance laws took another turn on August 16, 2011 when Illinois Governor Pat Quinn approved House Bill HB2267, which was passed by the Illinois Senate on 5/20/2011. The Illinois House passed the HB2267 on 4/13/2011. HB2267 is becoming Public Act 097-0407, and will go in effect January 1, 2012.
The Act has amended the Illinois Vehicle Codes related to uninsured motorists in Illinois, which is going up according to most recent analysis. The Act mandates that any driver convicted of a 3rd or subsequent charge of the driving of an uninsured automobile will have to pay a fine of $1,000. If a driver is convicted of driving an uninsured auto resulting in bodily injuries has two or more prior convictions of driving of an uninsured automobile or driving of an uninsured car causing bodily injury, then a fine of $2,500, besides any sentence of imprisonment, will be imposed.
Illinois auto insurance businesses and victims of uninsured motorists see this Act as a positive step, and in the right direction. The act will discourage people who are not very serious about making sure that they have the proper liability insurance. Adopting the Act will help getting more people acquiring proper insurance, and, in the long run, it will help to maintain low car insurance rates in Illinois.
Uninsured Motorists in Illinois are the subject of Public Act 097-0407. The original Bill HB2267 was introduced by Representative Tom Cross (R) of the 84th District. The Bill was approved unanimously by both the Illinois House and Senate.